THE JANUARY TERM HELD ON THE 1ST DAY OF JANUARY 2017

The County Commission convened at 10:00 a.m., pursuant to adjournment on December 27, 2016. Present: Dan Colbert-Presiding Commissioner, Mike Mueller- Associate Commissioner District 1, Matt Bass-Associate Commissioner District 2, and Crystal Hall, County Clerk, the following proceedings were held:

Invocation given by Pastor Steve Oliver.

Sheriff John Cottle

- There are currently 95 federal inmates and 61 County inmates in the jail.
- Reviewed incomes and expenses for 2016 for the different accounts held by the Sheriff.
- Discussed the Sheriff's vehicle fleet. The Sheriff anticipates needing to replace 3 Ford Explorers in 2017 to keep the fleet in good working condition.
- Discussed conceal carry permits and what changes if any might occur with the new Constitutional Carry law that recently went into effect.
- Discussed options for participating in the Lagers Retirement program.
- Discussed a proposed capital improvement sales tax to be used for adding additional space to the existing Justice Center and jail.
- The Sheriff has installed a camera on Childs Road to try to apprehend whomever is stealing the speed limit signs.

Unfinished/New Business

- Discussed road maintenance on Old Cap-Au-Gris Road. Dennis Kallash and Donald Thompson, Jr. were present to voice concerns on the safety of the road. The Commission will examine the road on January 9, 2017 to determine if the road needs to be barricaded for safety reasons.
- Commissioner Bass made a motion to reappoint Rod Barnhill, Glenda Fitzgerald, Kristin Gentry, Christine Heintzelman, Melba Houston, and David Thompson to the Lincoln County Resource Board of trustees for a three year term from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2019, based on the recommendation of the Lincoln County Resource Board. Commissioner Mueller second. The ayes carried the motion.

There being no other business before County Commission at this time, the meeting thereupon was adjourned until Monday, January 9, 2017 at 9:00 a.m.

Daniel H. Colbert	Crystal M. Hall
Presiding Commissioner	County Clerk
Mike Mueller	
Associate Commissioner District I	
Matt Bass	
Associate Commissioner District II	